Goldwork

The most exciting of all embroidery techniques is goldwork! I love the traditional type as well as “modern goldwork” and combinations with beads, sequins and nowadays even with materials from the area of mixed media. There is still a lot to discover. Yet it does not always have to be gold. In the picture above you see an embroidery I am currently working on, inspired by a page from the “Arnstein Bible” – this time everything is in copper.

Pfau, inspiriert vom Book of Kells

Pfau, inspiriert vom Book of Kells

My goldwork teacher Bärbel I. Zimber learned the goldwork technique at the Royal School of Needlework in London under Tracy A. Franklin, where this most noble of all embroidery techniques is of course being studied with particular thoroughness and is a core area of the training. Where else could goldwork be more important than at the school that does embroidery for the British Royal Dynasty?! Not only banners, but even coronation cloaks have been and still are embroidered here(when? For Charles, William, George?).

My second goldwork teacher Hazel Everett also learned the technique of goldwork at the Royal School of Needlework. She has written a very commendable book, you can order it  here

In Great Missenden we often do not apply goldwork in such a “festive” way anymore, but mix it with other techniques, with patchwork or bead embroidery, or even in a very experimental way with Tyvek, Lutradur, Angelina and a lot more. Queen Mum, founder of the Royal School of Needlework, would turn in her grave…

Goldwork-Sampler from my education (2003)
at the International School for Textile Arts

Design & Tutorial: Bärbel I. Zimber, www.textilkunstschule.de

Goldwork Mustertuch

Goldwork Mustertuch

Inspiration aus der Arnstein-Bibel

Goldwork

Die aufregendste aller Sticktechniken ist die Goldstickerei! Ich liebe die traditionelle Form ebenso wie das „Modern Goldwork“ und Kombinationen mit Perlen, Pailletten und neuerdings sogar mit Materialien aus dem Mixed Media-Bereich. Es gibt noch vieles zu entdecken. Und es muss auch nicht immer Gold sein. Oben im Bild ist eine Stickerei zu sehen, an der ich gerade arbeite, inspiriert von einer Seite aus der „Arnsteiner Bibel“ – diesmal ist alles in Kupfer gehalten.

 

Pfau, inspiriert vom Book of Kells

Pfau, inspiriert vom Book of Kells

Meine Goldwork-Lehrerin, Bärbel I. Zimber, hat die Goldstickerei an der Royal School of Needlework in London bei Tracy A. Franklin erlernt, wo diese edelste aller Sticktechniken natürlich ganz besonders gründlich durchgenommen wird und ein Schwerpunkt der Ausbildung ist. Denn wo könnte die Goldstickerei wichtiger sein als an der Schule, die für das britische Königshaus stickt?! Nicht nur Fahnen, sondern sogar Krönungsmäntel wurden (und werden? wann? Für Charles, William, Georg?) dort noch immer gestickt.

Auch meine zweite Goldwork-Lehrerin, Hazel Everett, hat die Goldstickerei an der Royal School of Needlework gelernt. Sie hat ein ganz besonders empfehlenswertes Buch geschrieben, man kann es hier bestellen.

In Great Missenden setzen wir Goldwork oft auch gar nicht mehr so „feierlich“ ein, sondern eher vermischt mit anderen Techniken, mit Patchwork oder Perlenstickerei – und auch ganz experimentell, mit Tyvek, Lutradur, Angelina und vielem mehr. Queen Mum, die Gründerin der Royal School of Needlework, würde sich im Grabe umdrehen …

Mein Goldwork-Mustertuch aus der Ausbildung (2003)
an der International School for Textile Arts

Design & Tutorial: Bärbel I. Zimber, www.textilkunstschule.de

Goldwork Mustertuch

Goldwork Mustertuch