Beadwork

My favorite kind of bead work is one that does not exclusivley consist of beads, but combines other materials and techniques.

You can work them as “delicate blanks”. Like “rough blanks” they are created to be further processed, only they are more delicate from the start. You can embroider them ahead of time and applique them later: onto garments or purses, onto quilts or jewelry pieces or – very strikingly – onto felt!

The outlines of Dear Jane or Quilted Diamonds are perfectly suited for this.

Anhänger

Amulette

If you ever make it to Mainz, I absolutely recommend visiting “Perle und Knoepp” (“Bead and Button”). The store is located next to the Gutenberg Museum, opposite the cathedral and just 10 minutes by foot from the Chagall windows.

On the right: my first bead embroidery, a necklace.

Below is an embroidery where I incorporated a lot of the things I learned in workshops with Christina Orth – and onto which I stitched the genuine Indian beetle wings that I always considered far too precious to actually use.

Perlenkette

Amulette

Überstickter indischer Druck

Bead embroidery over an indian block printing

Another work created under Christina Orth (and still in progress): an applique, embroidered over with beads and sequins.

Below: my latest bookbinding work. A bead embroidery embedded into a book on the same subject. I also made the cover paper by hand. The bead embroidery artist Robin Atkins had created a PDF file of her first book, available on her homepage (http://www.robinatkins.com). I printed it out and then bound it. The book itself can be seen in more detail in the chapter “Books and Boxes”.

Applikation mit Perlen

Appliqué with beads

Perlenbuch

Book with bead embroidery

Perlen & Co.

Am liebsten sind mir Perlenarbeiten, die nicht ausschließlich aus Perlen bestehen, sondern mit anderen Materialien und Techniken kombiniert werden.

Man kann sie als „Feinlinge“ arbeiten. Wie „Rohlinge“ sind sie zur Weiterverarbeitung gedacht, nur eben feiner. Man kann sie auf Vorrat sticken und später applizieren: auf Kleidung oder Taschen, auf Quilts oder Schmuckstücke – oder – sehr wirkungsvoll – auch auf Filz!

Hervorragend geeignet sind dafür die Grundrisse von Dear Jane oder Quilted Diamonds.

Anhänger

Anhänger

 

Sollten Sie je nach Mainz kommen, so empfehle ich unbedingt einen Besuch bei „Perle und Knöpp“. Der Laden befindet sich neben dem Gutenberg-Museum, gegenüber des Domes und nur 10 Gehminuten von den Chagallfenstern. Rechts: meine erste Perlenstickerei, eine Kette.

Unten eine Stickerei, in der ich viel Gelerntes aus den Kursen bei Christina Orth habe mit einfließen lassen – und in der ich endlich einmal die echten indischen Käferflügel mit eingestickt habe, die mir immer viel zu schade waren.

Perlenkette

Perlenkette

Überstickter indischer Druck

Überstickter indischer Druck

Ebenfalls bei Christina Orth entstanden (and still in Progress): eine Applikation, überstickt mit Perlen und Pailetten.

Unten: Meine neueste Buchbinde-Arbeit. Eine Perlenstickerei, eingelassen in ein Buch zum gleichen Thema. Auch das Umschlagpapier habe ich selbst gemacht. Die Perlenstickerin Robin Atkins hatte auf ihrer Homepage (http://www.robinatkins.com) eine PDF-Datei ihres ersten Buches zur Verfügung gestellt. Ich habe es ausgedruckt und anschließend gebunden. (Das Buch selber ist im Kapitel „Books and Boxes“ noch besser zu sehen).

Applikation mit Perlen

Applikation mit Perlen

Perlenbuch

Perlenbuch